I thought I would log some thoughts as I go through developing a web application that uses google maps.

I suppose the first question is why google maps over virtual earth, I have successfully in the past done some application that uses virtual earth and found it easy to implement but the people I am working on this project has a valid reason for the application to be used in Safari browsers and virtual earth has some problems displaying on a safari browser.

The first frustration I have run into is overlays generated from KML files,the problem is and its undocumented is that the KML must be publicly visible so that it appears, so in my case I am generating the KML files via an aspx page so that means I have to publish after every build to see if other parts of my website works.

No doubt will have some more fun and will keep the posting going.

